Awareness Raising of Pacific Island Development Aid Countries

eGA raises awareness about the opportunities of digital service delivery among governments in the Pacific region. It is targeting the following countries: Papua New Guinea, Solomon Islands, Vanuatu, Samoa, Tonga and Fiji. 

The sub-objective of this project is to:

  • encourage the use of digital technologies by governments in Pacific region,
  • enhance abilities to define, develop, implement and resource roadmaps on e-governance,
  • enable governments to engage (institutional) donors, investors and other service support providers by fostering enduring and creative public-private partnerships.

The first staps toward this project where made in May 2017, when representatives from the Solomon Islands, Fiji, Vanuatu, Samoa and Tonga participated in the Tallinn E-Governance Conference, which was organised by e-Governance Academy. In the margins of the conference, the participating officials expressed an interest in commencing broader cooperation on e-governance. As a result of consultations between e-Governance Academy and Australian Strategic Policy Institute (ASPI), a project was prepared and launched on 13 September 2018.

The activities include:

1) baseline assessment conduction of the current e-governance status among Indo-Pacific states through desktop research, interviews and questionnaires, who have qualified following the baseline assessment,

2) awareness-raising workshop for six countries representatives to discuss the main elements of e-governance and the requirements for effective implementation,

3) roadmap development for 2 States.