Estonian digital transformation expertise has reached 16 countries on three continents with the EU’s support


Estonian digital transformation expertise has reached 16 counties on three continents with the support of European Union funding for 79 million euros.

In cooperation with Estonian IT companies, the e-Governance Academy (eGA) has provided Estonian e-government solutions and shared experience with the governments of Ukraine, Moldova, Georgia, Kyrgyzstan, Albania, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Kosovo, Montenegro, North Macedonia, and Serbia. Consultations are provided for the governments of Türkyie and Armenia. The collaboration is ongoing with the governments of Chile, Costa Rica, El Salvador, and Guatemala.

 “EU Membership has been crucial for the development and security of the Estonian state. However, along with that, it has boosted the dissemination of Estonian digital transformation expertise and inspired many countries to follow the example of Estonian digital society. The European Union support has been a real scale-up for Estonian digital transformation expertise,” said Hannes Astok, Executive Director of eGA.

During the last eight years, the eGA-implemented and EU-funded projects have resulted in many achievements that promote peace, prosperity, and security in the EU’s neighbouring countries. In addition to eGA 50 experts, Estonian expertise was provided by more than 50 experts from the public sector and IT companies like Aktors, Cybernetica and CybExer Technologies.

 In Ukraine, the EU’s investment of approximately €51 million has significantly enhanced the country’s digital infrastructure, public service delivery, and cybersecurity capabilities, aligning closely with the EU Digital Single Market. Key achievements include developing and implementing the Trembita data exchange system, improving digital public service provision, creating new digital services, strengthening cybersecurity, and mutual recognition of Ukrainian digital identity in the EU.   

Photo: Kick-off of the DT4UA project in Ukraine


In Moldova, the EU’s €7 million funding supported the establishment of the National Cybersecurity Agency, the development of new cybersecurity legislation, raising awareness of online safety, and enhancing cyber defence. These initiatives will improve Moldova’s resilience in cyberspace.  

In Georgia, EU funding of approximately €7 million plays a crucial role in enhancing cyber defence and facilitating the digital skills of citizens.   

In the Western Balkans (Albania, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Kosovo, Montenegro, North Macedonia, and Serbia), the EU’s € 7 million funding in total has focused on improving cybersecurity resilience and capacity building. These initiatives play a crucial role in developing regional cooperation and enhancing local expertise in cybersecurity.   

In Kyrgyzstan, the EU-supported project, with 2 million in funding, has enhanced digital service provision via Tunduk, created a base for digital skills enhancement, and raised data protection and cybersecurity awareness among government officials.   

“We are proud of our collaboration with the EU and look forward to continuing our efforts to enhance the digital capabilities of countries worldwide,” said Hannes Astok, Executive Director of eGA.