The EU-funded Twinning project’s agreement was signed


The EU-funded Twinning project’s agreement was signed in Bishkek on November 4th 2021. It is the first Twinning cooperation project in the form of peer-to-peer cooperation between EU Member States and countries of the Centra Asia region.

The partnership agreement was signed by Valdis Dombrovskis, Executive Vice-President of the European Commission, Dastan Dogoev, Minister of Digital Development of the Kyrgyz Republic, and Jüri Seilenthal, Director General of the Foreign Economic Policy and Development Cooperation Department, Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Estonia.

Within the Twinning project the EU Member States Consortium represented by eGA from Estonia, Haus from Finland and CSI-Piemonte from Italy, will increase the capacity of the Kyrgyz Government to manage and guide sustainable e-government development, and improve the government’s transparency and accountability.

eGA has collaborated with the Government of Kyrgyz Republic since 2016 and consulted the implementation of the secure digital data exchange platform Tunduk among other activities.

“We are excited to be back in Kyrgyzstan and support the digital development of the Kyrgyz Government within the EU-funded Twinning project!” said Hannes Astok, Director of the e-Governance Academy.

The Twinning project has four priorities: 1) Improve digital skills, 2) Enhance access to e-services  3) Strengthen personal data protection and raise citizens’ awareness on digital rights; 4) Improve national cyber security knowledge and skills.

Our work will last two years and will be led by Tõnis Mäe, our Resident Twinning Advisor.

Read more at eGA’s web-page: https://ega.ee/project/kyrgyzstan-twinning/